Psystar's lucky customer
Written by Chris Tangora   
Tuesday, 29 April 2008

company-macclone-psystar.png So, something about the Psystar video that is going around is bugging me.  I couldn't put my finger on it until our JoshMeister made the comment "assuming, of course, that someone didn't just buy a similar case and install their own copy of OS X on it".  That got me thinking.

Is this video a hoax?  From a company that screams "foul" from every viewpoint this just shouts it louder for two reasons.

1) No logo.  If you are going to be a start-up business and  you don't brand your products, you're loosing out on valuable free advertisement.  There is no reference to Psystar anywhere on the case.  It could be that Psystar didn't plan for the branding of the computer, but seems unlikely.

2) Patrick (aka Whiskeyfrown) is one reallly lucky guy.  Of all the orders placed so far he is the only one to get a delivery.  It didn't go to any major media outlet or Mac website (which I'm sure there are a few that ordered them).  No, it went to Whiskeyfrown.  Not likely.

My opinion, Psystar is still shady.




Comments (10)
13-05-2008 23:10
 
A retraction? What's there to retract? Psystar's business operations were extremely questionable from the get-go. The company mysteriously appeared online completely out of nowhere having never been so much as mentioned anywhere on the entire Internet, changed its business address multiple times within the space of a day or two, and on and on and on. All MacMod has done is report on the drama as it's unfolded, which is exactly what every other site covering the story did (including—and I would say especially—Engadget).
Registered
 
30-04-2008 13:04
 
Nows that Engadget has received a review copy, I assume you'll issue a retraction?
Guest
 
Eric
30-04-2008 10:33
 
sorry about the double post...
Guest
 
John S
30-04-2008 10:33
 
Engadget just got their hands on one... 
 
 
http://www.engadget.com/2008/04/30/psystar-open-computer-unboxing-and-hands-on/
Guest
 
John S
30-04-2008 10:32
 
Engadget just got their hands on one.... 
 
http://www.engadget.com/2008/04/30/psystar-open-computer-unboxing-and-hands-on/
Guest
 
John S
29-04-2008 14:59
 
Mine shipped yesterday and is to arrive via UPS on Thursday May 1st. So I'll see in a couple of days what I Psystar Open Computer is all about.
Guest
 
fingerscrossed
29-04-2008 12:28
 
I think everyone is missing the big picture. Psystar is selling a Ubuntu computer for $400. Its difficult to beat that price.
Guest
 
John
29-04-2008 10:52
 
http://talkback.zdnet.com/5208-11408-0.html?forumID=1&threadID=47059&messageID=874962&start=0
Guest
 
bobby
29-04-2008 09:36
 
I agree, it could also be that he is in on it. Someone made a comment on another blog that this Patrick recently joined the Gizmodo blogs and has only posted about Psystar. He could easily be an "employee". When I see a reputable tech site with their own machine and benchmarks then I'll believe. One way or another, who would want to buy that trash. Just save your money and get a real one.
Guest
 
GG
29-04-2008 09:30
 
hahaha i love the title 
"Psystar's lucky customer" 
 
....just one.
Registered
 

Write Comment

Name:
Comment:

Code:* Code
I wish to be contacted by email regarding additional comments



 
< Prev   Next >